NEET 2017 to be held in 8 languages

Published on: Author:

NEET entrance exam

National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) has replaced the AIPMT and has been made mandatory for admissions in all-India medical/ dental colleges this year.Now, the Central Government has allowed the aspirants of National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) to take the test in any of these eight languages:

  1. Hindi
  2. English
  3. Assamese
  4. Bengali
  5. Gujarati
  6. Marathi
  7. Tamil
  8. Telugu

Read: NEET PG results will be declared on January 15, 2017

NEET is held by CBSE for the admission to graduate and post graduate medical courses in various colleges across India. The JEE Main 2017 notification is already out and it can be expected that the application form for NEET will be available by the third week of December. Generally, NEET is held in May every year.

Read: NEET PG exam pattern

The Union Minister of State for Health announced in Lok Sabha on 9 December that the section 10D of Indian Medical Council Act, 1956, prescribes conducting entrance exam in Hindi and English and other languages. Further, she also added that the state quota seats will be decided by the state government at the UG/PG level. This will take place without disturbing the reservation policy of respective state governments.


About Shreoshe Ghosh

Subscribe to our Newsletter