National Institute of Design (NID) Exam 2015

The National Institute of Design (NID) is an autonomous institution for industrial, textile, communication and IT integrated (experiential) design. It is supported by the Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Government of India and is recognised by the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), Government of India as a Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (SIRO.)


NID offers professional courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate level in five faculties and 18 specialised design domains. The institute conducts an annual Design Aptitude Test (DAT) followed by further rounds of selection to admit students in the following programmes:

Bachelor of Design (B.Des) (previously GDPD): Offered at the NID main campus in Ahmedabad, the undergraduate programme in design is a four-year course that is divided into a one-year Foundation Programme (with two semesters) followed by a three-year specialised study in a particular design discipline. The foundation programme will introduce you to the fundamentals of design and help you develop a better understanding of multiple disciplines of design and the connection between design and culture, emotions, environment and ecology.

Allotment of specialised discipline will take place on the basis of your performance in the foundation programme and the number of seats available in the desired programme. You can choose from the following disciplines:

  • Faculty of Industrial Design
    • Product Design
    • Furniture & Interior Design
    • Ceramic & Glass Design
  • Faculty of Communication Design
    • Graphic Design
    • Animation Film Design
    • Film & Video Communication
    • Exhibition (Spatial) Design
  • Faculty of Textile, Apparel and Lifestyle Accessory Design
    • Textile Design

The number of seats in the B.Des program is around 100 (including reserved categories).

Masters in Design (M.Des)(previously PGDPD): All postgraduate courses are of two and half years’ duration. There are around 275 seats (including reserved categories) for the programme. You can apply for up to two different disciplines in the same year. Following disciplines are offered under the M.Des programme:

Programmes offered at Main Campus, Ahmedabad:

  • Product Design
  • Furniture Design
  • Ceramic & Glass Design
  • Graphic Design
  • Animation Film Design
  • Film & Video Communication
  • Textile Design

Programmes offered at PG Campus, Gandhinagar:

  • Transportation & Automobile Design
  • Toy & Game Design
  • Lifestyle Accessory Design
  • Photography Design
  • Apparel Design
  • New Media Design
  • Strategic Design Management

Programmes offered at R&D Campus, Bengaluru:

  • Information design
  • Interaction design
  • Design for Retail experience
  • Universal Design
  • Digital Game Design

Fifteen per cent of seats in the GDPD and PGDPD courses are reserved for applicants from foreign countries, SAARC region and NRIs.

Important dates

The NID Design Aptitude Test (DAT) 2015-16 will be conducted separately for the B.Des and M.Des programs:

  • DAT exam date (B.Des): 11 January, 2015
  • DAT exam date (M.Des): 10 January, 2015

Other important dates related to NID 2015 – 2016 admissions can be found on the NID exam dates page.

Eligibility criteria

For B.Des course: You must have passed Higher Secondary (10+2) during the academic year 2013-14 or are appearing for the qualifying exam. You must be 20 years old or less (age relaxed by three years for reserved category) as on 1 June, 2015.

For M.Des courses: You must be 30 years old or less (age relaxed by three years for reserved category) as on 1 June, 2015. You must hold a Bachelor’s degree or equivalent or be appearing for qualifying examination in the year 2013-14. Different disciplines have a specific subject requirement of the qualifying degree. Check out these details on the NID eligibility criteria page.

Exam pattern & syllabus

The Design Aptitude Test (DAT) 2015-15 written examination is of three hours’ duration and carries a total weightage of 100 marks. Visit the NID exam pattern page for further details.

Exam centres

The DAT 2015-16 entrance examination to B.Des (GDPD) and M.Des (PGDPD) courses will be conducted across 12 cities. These are Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Chennai, Delhi, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai and Nagpur.

Application Process

You can apply for a maximum of two postgraduate disciplines, but you must submit two separate application forms along with separate sets of documents and fees. Learn more about the process and application fee on the NID application page.


Preparation books/ sample papers

Check out the list of books & sample papers that may help you prepare better for the NID entrance exam 2015.


Related Links