ad horizontal

National University of Educational Planning and Administration (NUEPA)



Birth of NUEPA (Earlier known as NIEPA – National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration) is associated with the UNESCO’s regional center for Educational Planners and Administration started in 1960 – 61 for taking care of educational needs of South Asia. The organization was renamed as Asian Institute of Educational Planning and Administration in 1965.

It was in 1970 that the institute was taken over by the govt. of India from UNESCO and was renamed as National Staff College for Educational Planners and Administration. The institute with the present name was rechristened in 1979.

The NUEPA as an autonomous organization emphasizes on planning,management and capacity building in educational policy, through research, training, consultancy and dissemination. The NUEPA structure is based on nine academic and one administrative unit.

The Minister for Human Resource Development, Government of India, is the chairman of the NUEPA Council. Director of the institute as head of the Executive Committee is responsible for policy making and implementation.

Financial advices to the institute is the responsibility of the Finance Committee. Eminent academicians from various institutions of the country, senior educational administrators and members of the faculty of NUEPA comprising of the Planning and Programme Committee, tender advice on academic programmes and training and research.

International Organizations like World Bank, UNESCO, COL etc. also take assistance from the NUEPA on several issues.

The university is fully involved in the capacity building and research in planning and management of education in not only India but also in South Asia, For enormous contribution made by it in the field of education, it was awarded with the status of deemed to be university in August 2006. Thus, university is now fully authorized to conduct its own examinations and give degrees.

Read: Apex Educational Bodies in India


The university functions through its nine Departments, which are as follows

  • Department of Educational Planning
  • Department of Educational Administration
  • Department of Educational Policy
  • Department of Educational Finance
  • Department of School and Non-formal Education
  • Department of Higher Education
  • Department of International Cooperation
  • Department of Sub-national Systems
  • Department of Operations Research and Systems Management

Read: NUEPA – Programs


Related Links

ad horizontal