ad horizontal


DASA Scheme

DASA stands for Direct Admission to Students Abroad. This Government of India has designated the Educational Consultants of India Limited (Ed.CIL) as the coordinating agency for carrying on the DASA Scheme. Under this scheme, deserving foreign nationals/ Persons of Indian Origins (PIOs) and Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) are given direct admission to undergraduate Programmes offered by the National Institutes of Technology and other centrally funded institutes (other than IITs) and Punjab Engineering College, Chandigarh .

Through this scheme, the Government of India aims to provide quality education to the children of overseas Indians in the field of Engineering and technology.

Ed.CIL has been designated as the ‘Coordinating agency and Single Window facility’ for the direct admission of eligible Foreign Nationals / Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) / Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) to undergraduate engineering programs offered by the National Institutes of Technology (formerly Regional Engineering Colleges) and other centrally funded institutions (other than IITs) and Punjab Engineering College, Chandigarh, under the Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA) Scheme. The institutions covered under this scheme are known for providing quality education in Engineering and technology. All these institutions have reasonably good facilities for accommodation, sports and extra curricular activities.

Institutions covered under DASA

Under DASA Scheme 2007-08, admissions are offered to the following institutions:

National Institutes of Technology

Following 15 National Institutes of Technology (formerly Regional Engineering Colleges) located in various states of India.

  • Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology [MNNIT], Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
  • Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology [MANIT], Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Calicut, Kerala
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Durgapur, West Bengal
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh
  • Malaviya National Institute of Technology [MNIT], Jaipur, Rajasthan
  • Dr. B.R. Ambedkar National Institute of Technology [DANIT], Jalandhar, Punjab
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Jamshedpur, Jharkhand
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Kurikshetra, Haryana
  • Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology [VNIT], Nagpur, Maharashtra
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Rourkela, Orissa
  • Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology [SVNIT], Surat, Gujarat
  • National Institute of Technology Karnataka [NITK], Surathkal, Karnataka
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu
  • National Institute of Technology [NIT], Warangal, Andhra Pradesh

Other centrally funded Institutions

  • Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIIT), Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh (Including Amethi Campus)

  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management (ABVIIITM), Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh

  • National Institute of Foundry and Forge Technology (NIFFT), Ranchi, Jharkhand

  • North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology (NERIST), Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh

  • Sant Longowal Institute of Engineering and Technology (SLIET), Longowal, Punjab

Other Institution

  • Punjab Engineering College, Chandigarh

All these institutions are “Deemed Universities” and have good facilities for accommodation, sports and extra curricular activities.

Under DASA Scheme, admissions are offered to Foreign Nationals / PIOs / NRIs who fulfill the following eligibility criteria:

  • Candidates must have passed the qualifying examination i.e. senior secondary or any other examination equivalent to 12 years of schooling in India.
  • Must have minimum aggregate marks of 60% or 6.75 CGPA on 10 point Scale or Equivalent Grades in all the subject of the qualifying examination.
  • Indian nationals seeking admissions should have studied abroad for a minimum period of five years (including the qualifying examination ie XI & XII Standards) during the last eight years.

Fee Structure under DASA Scheme

Registration Fee

A non-refundable registration fee of US $ 350 is required to be paid along with the application form.

Tuition Fee

  • Tuition Fee US $ 4000 per annum (Excluding hostel accommodation & other miscellaneous fees. Expenses for these will be in the range of US $ 300 – 400 Per Annum).
  • Foreign Nationals from SAARC Countries seeking admission under DASA Scheme are given special concession of 50% fee waiver in the Tuition Fees provided they have studied in SAARC Countries only.
ad horizontal