UGC declares 21 universities as FAKE, and warns students against taking admission in them.

The UGC has declared 21 universities as fake. Most of these universities are from Delhi and Uttar Pradesh. Read on to know the names of these universities.

UGC declared 21 fake Universities

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has recently announced that 21 universities are fake and lack the power to confer degrees. These institutions have been operating under the University Grants Commission Act, 1956.

Out of the 21 fake universities, 8 are located in Delhi, 4 in Uttar Pradesh, 2 in West Bengal and Odisha, and 1 in Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Puducherry, and Andhra Pradesh.

Also read: The UGC Chairman Spoke About Issues Related To Higher Education.

The UGC has released a statement today, claiming that degrees can only be conferred if the university is established under a Central, State/ Provincial Act, or by an institution which is deemed-to-be a university. The statement goes on to say that institutions that are especially empowered by an Act of Parliament can also award degrees. The UGC has called the list of universities published today “self-styled, unrecognized institutions” and states that they have no power to confer degrees.

The statement released by the UGC states, “Students and the public at large are hereby informed that the presently following 21 self-styled, unrecognized institutions, which are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, have been declared as fake universities, and they are not empowered to confer any degree.”

The fake universities from Delhi are All India Institute of Public and Physical Health Sciences (AIIPPHS), Commercial University Ltd., United Nations University, Vocational University, ADR-Centric Juridical University, Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, Vishwakarma Open University for Self-employment and Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University).

Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society of Karnataka; St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala; Raja Arabic University, Nagpur, Maharashtra; Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Puducherry; and Christ New Testament Deemed University of Andhra Pradesh have been declared fake.

The Nababharat Shiksha Parishad and North Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology are the fake universities of Odisha, while the Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine and Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research are fake universities in West Bengal.

Fake universities from Uttar Pradesh are Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayag; National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur; Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University and Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad, Bharat Bhawan.