UGC transfers 3 fellowship schemes to their concerned ministries

Nitin Varma

Nitin Varma

According to the notice from the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, the National Fellowship for SC (NFSC) and the National Fellowship for OBC have now been transferred.


The University Grants Commission, which is responsible for all issues related to academic and research institutes, recently announced that the three fellowship schemes they administer have been transferred to those concerned ministries. The commission has uploaded the official notice on their website at

“We would like to inform you that the introduction of these schemes may end as soon as September 30, 2022. The new administration at the ministry is implementing the schemes directly, w.e.f. October 1, 2022. Correspondence pertaining to this matter ought to be directed in the future to the following Agencies/Ministries,” it stated in a notification sent out by UGC.

Reportedly, the National Fellowship for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes has now been transferred to the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. It has also been reported that the Maulvi Azad National Fellowship has been given to the Minority Affairs Ministry.

IndiaEducation Counselling

The National Scheduled Cast and National Backward Classes Agency is responsible for NFSC, National Scheduled OBC Development Corporation for NFOBC.

The National Fellowship for SC is open to candidates who are a part of the scheduled caste and pursuing higher studies in Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Engineering and Technology. There are 2000 scholarships available for all subjects under this fellowship program.

The National Fellowship for OBC is open to candidates who belong to Other Backward Classes (OBC) and are pursuing higher studies. Every year there are 300 slots for the award of fellowship in a variety of subjects.

In order to help minority students, the government has set up a program that provides fellowships for five years. It’s open to individuals from six notified communities—Buddhist, Christian, Jain, Muslim, Parsi, and Sikh.

Cover Image
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Web Stories
Indian Navy Recruitment 2023: Apply for 372 Vacancies From May 15 JEE Main 2023 Paper 2 result to be out soon | Details here ICSI CSEET May Result 2023 Declared Indraprastha University Increases Supernumerary Seats for Foreign Students to Welcome Global Talent Rozgar Mela: PM Modi to Grant 71,000 Appointment Letters to New Appointees TODAY