West Bengal: Goutam Paul Becomes The New President Of Primary Education Board

The West Bengal government appoints Professor Paul as the West Bengal Primary Education Board’s President.

Goutam Paul appointed the president of WBPEB

The West Bengal government has appointed Professor Goutam Paul as the new President of the West Bengal Primary Education Board (WBPEB). Prior to this, Professor Paul was working as the state-run Kalyani University’s Pro Vice-Chancellor. He replaced Manik Bhattacharya, who was removed on 21st June on grounds of alleged illegalities in the teachers’ appointment in government as well as government-aided primary schools in West Bengal. The notice of Professor Paul appointment was issued by the order of the Governor.

Governor La Ganesan appointed the senior academic, Professor Paul as the head of their newly constituted ad-hoc committee. This committee is responsible for running the board for a period of one year. The committee includes 11 other members including a noted Indologist Dr. Nrisingha Prasad Bhaduri, Dr. Rakhi Paul—Assistant Professor of Bethune College, Professor Malayendu Saha—Chairman of West Bengal Joint Entrance Examination Board, and Professor Aveek Majumder—Chairman of Expert committee on school education.

What happened with Manik Bhattacharya?

 Manik Bhattacharya was removed from the post of West Bengal Board of Primary Education’s President by Justice Abhijit Gangopadhyay, Calcutta High Court Justice. He was found responsible for illegally appointing more than 269 teachers in government and government-aided primary schools. Central agencies have questioned Mr. Bhattacharya regarding the case as well. Mr. Bhattacharya is also the Trinamool Congress MLA from Nadia district’s Palashipara constituency.