ad horizontal

National Institute of Technology Rourkela - Introduction

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela was set up by the central government in association with the state government of Orissa in 1961 by the name of Regional Engineering College. The main aim behind establishing it was to produce quality Engineers and Scientists at Graduate and Post Graduate levels.

The management of the institute is in the hands of Board of Governors of National Institute of Technology (Rourkela) Society, which is also provided with administrative and financial autonomy.

In a survey carried out by NASSCOM lately, the institute has been ranked as the 18th premier technical institution for nurturing the best talent in the country. Currently, the Institute has the following departments:

  • Applied Mathematics
  • Biotechnology and Medical Engineering 
  • Business Administration
  • Ceramic Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science & Engineering  0661
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering  
  • Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Life Science 
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Physics

The Institute consists of the institute buildings, halls of residence and staff colony and is situated over an area of 262 hectares of land provided by the Government of Orissa. It is a residential campus offering accommodation to faculty, staff and students. There are 6 halls of residence for boys and one for girls. Banking Facilities in NIT are extended by State Bank of India through its REC Campus, Rourkela. The Institute dispensary can be used by the students and staff for medical purposes.

Related Links

ad horizontal