The Central Government of India along with recommendations from the University Grants Commission (UGC) grants Deemed University status to educational institutions of India. The status of Deemed University is granted only after fulfilling certain criteria laid down by the UGC. The Deemed University status allows the institutions to develop their own syllabus and course work. They also get the autonomy to set its own guidelines regarding admission and fees.

The following is the list of Institutions which have been declared as Deemed to be Universities (As on 23rd June, 2008) under section 3 of the UGC Act 1956 by Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, along with their MHRD/UGC approved Off-Campus(s)/ Institution(s) under Ambit/Off-Shore Campus(s).


Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM) Gandhi Nagar Campus, Rushikonda, Visakhapatnam-530 045 A.P.

Year of Establishment - 13.08.2007

International Institute of Information Technology Survey No. 25, Gachibowli, Ranga Reddy District, Hyderabad-500 032 Andhra Pradesh

Year of Establishment - 21.8.2001

ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education Hyderabad A.P.

Year of Establishment - 16.12.2008

Vignan's Foundation of Science, Technology & Research Vallmudi, Guntur Distt A.P.

Year of Establishment -

Koneru Lakshmaiah Education Foundation Kunchanapalli Post, Vaddswaram Guntur District, Andhra Pradesh

Year of Establishment -



Nava Nalanda Mahavihara Nalanda - 803 111 (Bihar)

Year of Establishment - 13.11.2006


Jamia Hamdard Hamdard Nagar-110 062 New Delhi

Year of Establishment - 10.05.1989

Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences(ILBS) D1,Vasant Kunj, New Delhi - 110070 . New Delhi

Year of Establishment - 24.06.2009


Sumandeep Vidyapeeth Village - Piparia, Taluka Vaghodia, District - Vadodara Gujarat

Year of Establishment - 17.01.2007


Manav Rachna International University Faridabad Haryana

Year of Establishment - 21.10.2008


Indian School of Mines Dhanbad-826 004 Jharkhand

Year of Establishment - 18.09.1967


B.L.D.E. University Bijapur Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 29.02.2008

Jagadguru Sri Shivarathreeswara University Jagadguru Dr. Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Circle, Ramanuja Road, Mysore-570 004 Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 28.05.2008

NITTE University Mangalore 575 003 Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 04.06.2008

Sri Devraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and Research B. H. Road, Tamaka, Kolar-563 101 Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 25.05.2007

Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education Tumkur district-572 102 Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 30.05.2008

Yenepoya University Mangalore Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 27.02.2008

Christ University Hosur Road, Bangalore-560 029 Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 22.07.2008

Jain University V.V. Puram, Bangalore Karnataka

Year of Establishment - 19.12.2008


Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology Thiruvananthapuram - 695 022 Kerala

Year of Establishment - 03.07.2008


Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management Gola Ka Mandir, Gwalior-474 005 M.P.

Year of Establishment - 26.03.2001

Pandit Dwarka Prasad Mishra Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design & Manufacturing(PDPM-IIITDM) IT Bhawan, Government Engineering College, Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh.

Year of Establishment - 24.06.2009







Academy of Maritime Education and Training 5107, H2, 2nd Avenue, 1st Floor, Anna Nagar, Chennai-600 0 40 Tamilnadu

Year of Establishment - 21.08.2007

Chennai Mathematical Institute Plot H1, SIPCOT IT Park, Padur Post,Siruseri- 603 103, Chennai (Tamilnadu)

Year of Establishment - 15.12.2006

Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science (HITS) Padur, Old Mahabalipuram Road, Kelamballam, Kancheepuram District. (Tamilnadu)

Year of Establishment - 05.05.2008

Kalasalingam Academy of Research and Higher Education Anand Nagar, Krishnankoil, Virudhunagar-626 190 , via Srivilliputhrur Tamilnadu.

Year of Establishment - 1984

Periyar Maniammai Institute of Science & Technology (PMIST) Priyar Nagar, Vallam, Thanjavur -613 403 Tamil Nadu

Year of Establishment - 17.08.2007

Ponnaiyah Ramajayam Institute of Science & Technology (PRIST) Yagappa Chavadi, Thanjavur-614 904 Tamilnadu

Year of Establishment - 04.01.2008

S.R.M Institute of Science and Technology 2, Veerasamy Street, West Mambalam, Chennai-600 033 Tamilnadu

Year of Establishment - 2.08.2002


Shobit Institute of Engineering & Technology Dulhera Marg, Roorkee Road, Meerut-250 010 Uttar Pradesh.

Year of Establishment - 08.11.2006

Nehru Gram Bharati Kotwa Jamunipur, Dubwali, Dt. Allahabad Uttar Pradesh.

Year of Establishment - 27.06.2008

Santosh University Santosh Nagar,Ghaziabad Uttar Pradesh.

Year of Establishment - 27.06.2008


HIHT University Swami Rama Nagar, Jolly Grant, P.O. Doiwala, Dehradun Uttrakhand

Year of Establishment - 6.06.2007

Graphic Era University Dehradun Uttrakhand

Year of Establishment - 14.08.2008


Related Links

ad horizontal