Certified Financial Planner (CFP)

Certified Financial Planner (CFP) is internationally recognized qualification in Financial Planning offered to finance professionals who fits in the norms of education, examination, experience and ethics. A CFP qualified professional can works in India as well as overseas in finance industry as financial planner, he / she advises individuals in taking financial decisions for achieving life goals. Financial Planning Standards Board (FPSB) India is the licensing agency which offers membership and certification and conducts examination for award of CFP in India. The FPSB has study and examination centers across India to conduct CFP examination. CFP qualification is recognized in 23 countries across the world.

Eligibility Criteria

CFP Certification is offered in two categories: Regular and Challenge Status. Following are mentioned eligibility criteria and process for both categories.


A candidate must be SSC/ Matriculation / 10th pass at the time of enrollment and has to pass following four examinations either through self study or through training support from any one of FPSB India’s approved Education Providers.
1. Risk Analysis & Insurance Planning (Exam 1)
2. Retirement Planning & Employee Benefits (Exam 2)
3. Investment Planning (Exam 3)
4. Tax Planning & Estate Planning (Exam 4)
These Exams are facilitated by NSE and conducted online on NCFM platform on NSE’s examination centres and other NSE networked sites throughout India.
(Note: At the time of CFP Certification a candidate has to be minimum HSC/ 12th pass)

Challenge Status

A candidate must be a CA / Intermediate level, CFA (US), ICWA, CAIIB, CS, LLB, PhD, M.Phil, PG, Licentiate/Associate/ Fellowship of Life Insurance, Actuary, FFSI & FLMI from LOMA, Civil Service Examinations by UPSC.

Register for CFP Examination, click here.

Related Links

ad horizontal